Transmission

Shoutouts to my boy Bobby M. from THEGARAGEBOYS. Follow him on twitter at @BMONTEFALCON.

I just want to blog about my love for music. Music is VERY therapeutic. In nursing school, we learned about therapeutic techniques like breathing, massage, or PHYSICAL stuff. How about music? When I jam out or even when I hear a good song, my mood changes. If I’m mad at the world, I’ll pop in some Devil Wears Prada. If I feel like I’m in love, I’ll listen to some Robin Thicke or Michael Buble. If I want to MAKE love, I’ll listen to that R. Kelly, Keri Hilson, or The-Dream. We all have those times where there is nothing to do but think. We can’t be surrounded by friends all the time. We’ll be stuck in traffic coming home from work or school with no one to talk to or nothing to tweet about because you’ve tweeted 5 times within 2 minutes about how whack the traffic is. Well, pop in a CD, iPod, or cassette and zone out.

When I listen to certain songs, my life just gets better all of a sudden. Music is like magic. Some people can make magic while others love to watch. We know magic is not real and it sometimes is fiction or even just a figment of our imagination but to zone out and just think to ourselves that this magic is real, then that is when it becomes therapeutic. I’m not talking about Bitches or Hoes or G5 jets or Cristal or whatever. I’m talking about lyrics, melodies, tunes. I’m not going to lie though, when they play stuff like that at a club or wherever, people are known to break it down (ahem* TEP AND APRIL *ahem) but that’s the beauty about music. Forget alcohol. Music is the ultimate liquid courage. Some of us are not great musicians or singers but we are very closeted with that aspect of our life. We all love a little tune in the shower, do we not?

When I go to a concert, much like Kanye West’s Glow In The Dark tour, I didn’t hear the album cuts, I heard LIVE remixes. It was great to see that musicians have such great talent to do things like that. It’s like watching a magic show and you ask yourself, “How does that work? How did that happen? This is too good to be true.” I’m not just a hip hop lover. I love all kinds of music. I remember asking my friend Mary Jo when we were in elementary school what kind of music does she like and she answered, “Good Music”. There’s no other way I can explain it. If you saw my Driving Playlist on my iPod RIGHT NOW, I have Black Eyed Peas, Glee Cast, Jay-Z, Trey Songz, Young Money, Vitamin String Quartet, Radiohead, Kid Cudi, Shakira, and many others. This is GOOD MUSIC to me. It may not be to you but sometimes, I don’t like the music you may listen to. There’s tones that strike the lymbic system that just soothes the body.

So next time you’re stressed, mad, pissed, loved, or any other emotion, go to Mt. Soledad in La Jolla, pop in your iPod, set it to that Incubus “Wish You Were Here” and stare out into the Pacific.

Much Love, Allen Ray…

Leave a comment